Official Opening

Official Opening

The official opening of the path network at Spiers parklands last Tuesday evening proved to be a wonderful event held in sunshine conditions. Chair of Friends of Spiers (FoS) Fergus Highgate welcomed everyone to the event and highlighted the considerable efforts by many volunteers, young and old, over the past year and the results were there for all to see in the parklands. The official opening ribbon was cut by Councillor John Bell, chair of the Spiers Trust.

Councillor John Bell

Councillor John Bell declares the Spier's Parklands Open

Afterwards a golden opportunity was taken to acknowledge the quite outstanding work of some of the young volunteers who regularly help in the grounds and the presentation of certificates was made by Ferguson Highgate, chair of Friends. Members of Making Beith Better (YMBB) who received John Muir Awards were: Stefanie Wilson, Sarah McClune, Lauren Ferguson, Christine Sutherland and Jane Sutherland.

The following members of Kilbirnie Youth Group (YKG) who also received similar awards were: Nicole Blair, Emily Aitken, Emma Carroll, Chloe Victoria Sharpe, Courtney Murphy, Sarah Louise Ward, Karrie-Anne McLaughlan, Paige Stewart, Jodie Boyd, Laura Hamilton, Amie Thomson and Kayleigh McKay.

Special thanks was also due to Roger Griffith, NAC GV Ranger, for his considerable leadership role over the past year and above all for his work in bringing such a diverse range of groups and individual volunteers together from Kilwinning (James Watt College) and all the Garnock Valley towns and villages, all working in harmony and making a considerable contribution to the positive changes at Spiers. After the formal part of the evening, everyone enjoyed a hog roast and barbeque with visiting groups being shown around the grounds. Only goes to show what can be achieved with everyone working together for the common good.